Justcallmedoctor…..Soon!

Soon meaning 5 years………..

I was working on a post that was going to rant about the job hunting I had started given I am wait-listed at all the medical schools I interviewed at. I’ve been on an emotional roller-coaster this past year. Yay getting interviews ……but, oh, most other schools rejected me :(….yay I got an awesome thesis committee together……ugh, this statistical analysis is going to give me an aneurysm!!……yay, I successfully completed my thesis and will graduate……but what the heck am I going to do with my life if I don’t get into medical school??

In the midst of looking for apartments and jobs, I got a weird letter from SUNY Buffalo. I know I had been rejected there earlier and thought “Oh, they are probably sending me a paper copy of the rejection for my records. Nice -_-“. I almost threw it out, but decided to open it since it was a little thicker than a rejection.

I’ll cut to the chase — Basically, the University of Rochester (my current school) is part of a coalition of NYS medical schools that nominate up to 25 students to take part in SUNY Buffalo’s post-baccalaureate program for minorities/financially disadvantaged aspiring doctors. This is in order to make the population of physicians more representative of our diverse United States population (there is peer-reviewed research out there showing that patients prefer and have better outcomes with a physician that shares their culture and language…more on this in future posts). It is a 1 year, all expenses paid program, and if I successfully complete it I am GUARANTEED A SPOT IN THE UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER SCHOOL OF MEDICINE in Fall of 2014.

I also got a nice email from the Director of Admissions at Rochester who said I have huge potential to be a great physician, and they wouldn’t have been able to get to me on the wait-list this year. This program also gives me the opportunity to prove to them that I can master the harder sciences that I had some issues with in college. I’m dreading having to re-take Orgo (not sure if I will have to). Since getting this news I have been vacillating in my head about whether I will be able to pull this off or not. I like Bio, I like Anatomy…..I love medicine and the human body, and talking with patients. I’m not too keen on physics and chemistry. I’ll be taking physiology for the first time, and maybe biochemistry and immunology. Those are tough courses in med school, so this is essentially medical school part 0.  I’m scared, but at the same time, I feel I can do this. I’m a different person than I was in college……I got this.

It feels nice having the next 5 years of my life set. For some, that may be nerve racking……..no flexibility, no chance to go where you want to go, having to forget what a vacation is like. But you if you are a doctor, if you are a medical student…..you know.

Its the greatest feeling in the world.

Leave a Reply

