HAPPY NEW YEAR! whOa….Haven’t been on here in a while….

Life started happening…..fast…..at the end of the last semester. I was hyper-focusing on finishing strong, with good grades, and then med school interviews started coming and that was all that was on my mind. Throw in my thesis, and I was swamped.

I didn’t exercise for a minute the last 2ish months of the semester.  I gained weight….I felt gross. I lost fitness. 

School wise, I accomplished what I wanted to. I finished my thesis proposal and then actually proposed, and it all went better than expected! I am so glad I am getting this degree and able to research racial disparities in the geriatric population. No doubt, it’ll be part of my career in the future as a physician.

About 2 weeks ago I started feeling really sick. I was sleepy all the time, hungry all the time, bloated, gaining weight, had bleeding gums, my body temperature randomly fluctuated to extremes, and my heart rate was elevated. I was scared I was anemic, or had hypothyroidism……something……I wasn’t sure. 

Well, I had had enough.  This all started when I stopped exercising, so once I got a break from school I started up again. Easy…..30min….on the bike. This was a little over a week ago. I swear…….2 days after consistently exercising, I feel SO MUCH BETTER.

I don’t know if its all mental….If its the “placebo effect”, but man does exercise have such a wonderful affect on me. My mind set regarding exercise has changed a bit in the past week. As my symptoms disappeared  I realized exercise is my medicine. It keeps me feeling good. It makes me feel great actually! Why stop? Why allow the possibility of feeling absolutely terrible? I can’t anymore…I won’t.

So I’ve been cycling and running consistently again for a week now. Not long at all, but better than where I came from. Fully appreciating now what a powerful effect it has on my health and mood, I am trying to darnedest to make this a regular part of my life. No ifs and or buts. Its something I just have to do for myself every day. 

Classes start up again this coming Tuesday, and my challenge will be to not sacrifice my health for good grades. I can do both.

Watch me. 

2 thoughts on “HAPPY NEW YEAR! whOa….Haven’t been on here in a while….

  1. Doc, you just witnessed the one standard miracle that saves millions if riders and runners… There is a lot of research out there that shows exercise is fantastic for the human body…

    You just found out what that feels like – and what you felt like without it… All in the space of two months. You have come to realize that it hurts more to quit than it does to ride.

    Welcome to the club! Woohoo! 😉

  2. Woohoo indead. Its one thing knowing/reading the research, but actually experiencing it myself is another. It put it in harsh perspective. I want dont want to be the type of physician that says “do as I say, not as I do”. Unhealthy, overweight, smoking doctors completely perplex me.

Leave a Reply

