In the beginning there was the Word…

I started telling people I wanted to be a doctor early on in high school. I knew from an early age I wanted this, but it wasn’t until high school that I began to understand what it would take. Since, I have had friends, friends of friends, coworkers, and family comeup to me every so often saying something like “Carla! You are basically a doctor [in medical school], right? Could you look at this [x] on my [y] and tell me what it is. What should I do?” Nope, sorry, still not a doctor. I usually take a stab at their ailment anyway, imagining I’m on an episode of “Mystery Diagnosis” on the Discovery Health Channel (best channel on earth, whatever happened to it??).

All joking aside, it kills me every time I have to say “I’m not in medical school yet”. My journey has been non-traditional. Throw in some hiccups, bumps, and large hurdles in the way, and it has made for a difficult trip. But this blog isn’t going to be about me complaining about my first world problems. I hate when people do this, when they know they have it good. You have a roof over your head, food in your stomach, and good education/job….just shut up. I’m sure I’ll be telling myself to shut up too. All I want to do is put my story out there and hope it is interesting, maybe even inspiring. Maybe it’ll bring a smile to your face, or a tear to your eye, or maybe just be something you read when you are extraordinarily bored…..
I don’t care….
tumblr_m5bubrmcsr1r2tpfd

I don’t want this blog to be all about medical school. I have a lot of other stuff going on. I’m in grad school for my Masters in Public Health….and ummmm, that pretty much takes up my life at the moment. I’m in a lovely relationship that would be perfect if it weren’t for the environment around us (very romeo+juliet, let me tell ya). And I’m a recreational runner trying to get serious about triathlon.
More on all this to come……

So heres to me being at least a little interesting, and that my mom doesn’t end up being the only one reading this because I asked her to.

Leave a Reply

